• Twitter
  • RSS

UNESCO HIV and Health Education Clearinghouse

Next FRESH Webinar on School-Related Gender-Based Violence

School-Related Gender-Based Violence: New Global Guidance for Prevention and Response

Presenters: Jenelle Babb, UNESCO; Julie Hanson Swanson, USAID; and Hassan Muluusi, Raising Voices, Uganda

Time: 15 February 2017 - 08.00 EDT/ 13.00 GMT/ 14.00 CAT

This FRESH webinar will explore tools and approaches for preventing, measuring, monitoring and responding to school-related gender-based violence (SRGBV), based on evidence and country experiences.

SRGBV affects millions of children and young people, cutting across cultures, economies, peoples and practices. It constitutes a major barrier to children’s ability to learn and develop, and is correlated with lower academic achievement.

Ending school-related gender-based violence is a priority for countries wishing to achieve ambitious global goals on inclusive and quality education for all, good health and well-being and gender equality.

Published in December 2016, the Global Guidance on Addressing School-Related Gender-Based Violence aims to provide a comprehensive resource for addressing SRGBV for policymakers and practitioners. This global guidance was co-published by UNESCO and UN-Women and was developed in close collaboration with the Global Partners Working Group to End SRGBV.

To find out more about the webinar series visit: www.schoolsandhealth.org

The FRESH School Health and Nutrition webinar series provides monthly presentations by leading policy makers, researchers and implementers engaged in improving the health and education of children in low and middle income countries across the globe. 

Our mission

Providing a comprehensive knowledge base and information exchange service to support the development of effective HIV and AIDS, school health and sexuality education policies, programmes and advocacy within the education sector.