• Twitter
  • RSS

UNESCO HIV and Health Education Clearinghouse

The School Health Integrated Programme Initiative: upcoming FRESH webinar

The School Health Integrated Programming Initiative

Presenters: Dr Laura Appleby, Partnership for Child Development, Imperial College London,

19 September 2017 - 09.00 EDT/ 14.00 BST/ 16.00 EAT/ 21:00 SGT

The School Heath Integrated Programming (SHIP) initiative is a global programme that supports governments to mainstream school health and nutrition (SHN) interventions into national education sector plans. The initiative is focused on two cornerstones of SHN: deworming and vision screening. These two simple interventions can be used as a platform for other interventions. As part of the programme the SHIP initiative worked with governments in Cambodia, Ethiopia, Ghana and Senegal, to distribute treatments for intestinal worms and screen the eyes of 40,000 school children, giving glasses to those who need them.

The initiative is collaboration between the World Bank, Imperial College London's Partnership for Child Development (PCD) and Sightsavers with funding from the Global Partnership for Education.

To find out more about the webinar series and watch past webinars visit the webinar home page @ schoolsandhealth.org or for more information about FRESH visit www.fresh-partners.org

The FRESH School Health and Nutrition webinar series provides monthly presentations by leading policy makers, researchers and implementers engaged in improving the health and education of children in low and middle income countries across the globe.

Our mission

Providing a comprehensive knowledge base and information exchange service to support the development of effective HIV and AIDS, school health and sexuality education policies, programmes and advocacy within the education sector.