• Twitter
  • RSS

UNESCO HIV and Health Education Clearinghouse

Promoting Mental Health by Improving School Climate: The Bihar (India) Trial: webinar

Promoting Mental Health by Improving School Climate: The Bihar (India) Trial: webinar

Presenter: Sachin Shinde,PhD, Research Director, SEHER & PRIDE Projects, Sangath, Goa, India

Date: Thursday, 1st March, 2018 (14:00, London, UK, 9:00 am Washington DC, 19:30 Delhi, India)

Participant link: https://meet.lync.com/ishn/dmccall/ID6I48TL

Sangath is India's 4th leading Public Health Research Institute. The non-profit organization has delivered several successful school-based and school-linked research projects and programs as part of its SEHER program in India, a low and middle income mega-country with wide variations in incomes and other resources. This webinar will examine the SEHER study that investigated the impact of two interventions (delivered by teachers or by lay counselors) to improve school climate as a strategy to promote mental health and social inclusion. The SEHER program has and is testing other components of a comprehensive approach.

This webinar is the second of of two sessions which have illustrated how schools in low resource settings can promote MH. This session on psycho-social support complements the earlier session on a MH literacy approach that promotes help-seeking, reduces stigma and increases teacher awareness. As part of the webinar, a draft summary and statements on promoting MH in LRC's will be tabled and participants invited to comment and edit subsequently online.

To access the webinar on the day of the session, this Participants Link will be active about 15 minutes before the start of webinar. 

Our mission

Supporting education ministries, researchers and practitioners through a comprehensive database, website and information service.